First 4 weeks of uni

The first month of university has been pretty intense but at the same time very fun. I switched some units and now I got some really good ones. I am taking Signals & Systems, Probability models, German and a management unit. It is a lot of work and there are so many assignments, but at the same time, it is still doable. However, it takes up a lot of time to finish the assignments and figuring out what Monash University expects in essays and computer-laborations etc. But we are almost halfway through the semester already so time flies.

It took a week to be able to find where the different classes are. The first week it was so easy to see who was new to the school and totally lost. But Monash has got a really good campus map app so that was my best friend for the first week. For the first two weeks were we able to choose which tutorial session (and in some cases lectures sessions) we wanted to go to in each unit as well as any laboratories. In some units, there are so many people that they need two or more lecture sessions for the same content. So I could pretty much shape my timetable in a way that suits me, which meant that I now have Wednesdays off and Thursday and Fridays I end at noon. So nice! Most of the lectures are recorded as well, which is really nice since some professors have pretty strong accents and it is good to rewatch it and actually figure out what they are saying.

Every Tuesday afternoon MOVE (Monash Overseas and Exchange club) gives free coffee to its members at the student-run Wholefoods at Campus Centre. Guess where you can find us every Tuesday...

Tomorrow starts week 5 (out of 12) – so almost always halfway!

In German tutorial class. It is really weird because there are no tables... Everyone gets a chair (on wheels) with a table attached to the chair and underneath you are supposed to put your bag. But it is very interactive and easy to do exercises etc. At first, it was really weird, but now I actually like it!
 
The Menzies Building (a.k.a the Arts building). Here I have my German tutorials (on the 3rd floor) and my management tutorial as well as a few lectures on the ground floor. The ground floor (outside area) is like a wind tunnel since they (many years ago) built the building in the wrong direction...
 
One really nice area in from of the Campus Centre. They have a big screenl, where they sometimes show movies and AFL games (in the summer though) and you can sit and eat your lunch :)
 
(I haven't taken so many pictures yet of the uni etc, but I will take more later)
 

Kommentera här: